Union County Public Schools Inspiring the Champion Within

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee

Board Members

  District 1
  Jennifer Buckman - Chairperson
  Board Member - January 2005
  8435 S R 360
  Uniontown, Kentucky 42461

Jennifer Buckman has been a Board member since January 2005. She became Board Chairperson in January 2009.

Mrs. Buckman is currently employed as the City Clerk at Uniontown. With a long-standing history of involvement with Union County Schools, prior to becoming a Board member, Mrs. Buckman logged countless volunteer hours with our schools as well as served as PTO President for Uniontown Elementary.

Mrs. Buckman is a 1986 graduate of Union County High School, where she was a member of the National Honor Society. She has been married to Eddie Buckman for 21 years and they have one son, Holdan, and one grand-daughter.

When Mrs. Buckman is not working or tending to school business, she enjoys spending time with her family.

Mrs. Buckman’s goal is to see the students of Union County Public Schools achieve at high levels and be well-prepared for their future.

MWhitsell  District 2
  Melissa Whitsell
  Board Member - January 2011
  624 Ed Ricketts Road
  Morganfield, Kentucky 42437

Mrs. Whitsell became a member of the Union County Board of Education in January 2011.

Mrs. Whitsell is currently involved in the daily operation of her family-owned business, Whitsell Funeral Home. She is a past employee of both the Union County and Webster County Public School districts.

Mrs. Whitsell is a proud 1989 graduate of Union County High School and a 1993 graduate of University of Kentucky with a Bachelor degree of Health Science in Communication Disorders.

Mrs. Whitsell is a Union County native and is married to John Whitsell. For many years, Mrs. Whitsell has been a dedicated parent volunteer by serving as a SBDM council member at both MES and UCMS, PTO president and treasurer, participant in KY Forward, and parent sponsor for the UCMS Dance team and Y-Club.

Mrs. Whitsell became a Board member because of her great desire to be a part of setting the vision and goals for the district through curriculum and academic achievement. She would like to help our district achieve academic excellence, high student achievement, increased graduation rate, and the establishment of high expectations on ACT scores. Mrs. Whitsell also would like to continue the process of meshing all three elementary schools in order to promote consistency and unity across the district, help teachers and staff members become better leaders and educators through on-going training, and eliminate negative culture. Additionally, she wants to see our schools and district meet NCLB goals, offer more dual credit courses, increased college planning, increased KVHS courses, and an emphasis on STEM areas with higher goals in math and science .

D CowanDistrict 3
Drennan Cowan 
Board Member- January 2017
1960 Cullen Road
Morganfield, KY 42437

Mr. Cowan became a member of the Union County Board of Education in January 2017.

Mr. Cowan owns and operates Cowan Farms and Tri-State Farm Service.

Mr. Cowan is a proud 2007 graduate of Union County High School. He also graduated Western Kentucky University in 2011 with a Bachelors of Science degree in Agronomy.

Mr. Cowan and his wife Sydney are life-long residents of Union County and are parents of one daughter.

Mr. Cowan serves on several local boards including Union County First, Sturgis Kiwanis, is a graduate of the Union County First Leadership Group.

EMeachamDistrict 4
Evelyn Meacham-Vice Chairperson
Board Member - January 2011
705 O'Nan Dyer Road
Sturgis, Kentucky 42459


Mrs. Meacham became a member of the Union County Board of Education in January 2011 and became Vice Chairperson in January 2015.

Mrs. Meacham is a retired teacher from the Union County Public School district and currently a horse farm owner.

Mrs. Meacham is a proud 1967 honors graduate of Union County High School and a graduate of Western Kentucky University with a Masters degree in elementary education.

Mrs. Meacham is a native of and life-long resident of Union County  and is married to Ralph Meacham. They are the proud parents of two adult children, Amanda Coy and Chuck Meacham, and also proud grandparents. Mrs. Meacham has coached softball in youth leagues as well as softball and basketball for Union County Public Schools. She is actively involved as a leader in 4-H. Currently she is working part time for the Union County Library District and is also serving as a member of Union County First.


Mrs. Meacham ran for the Board in 2010 because she felt that changes were being made to the detriment of our system. As a teacher in the Union County school system, she was active in various ways and had opportunities to have input in some of the decisions that were made. After retirement, she felt it was time to have a broader role in the decision making process of the school system. Having been out of teaching for only a couple of years, she felt that she could offer a perspective to the Board that had not been previously available to them. Now in her second term on the Board, Mrs. Meacham is confident in the leadership of our current administration.

Mrs. Meacham’s goal is for students of  Union County Public Schools  to have the opportunity to gain the skills to be competitive in today’s society. She wants to see graduates return and contribute to the growth of Union County and speak proudly to others of our county.  She wants a diploma from Union County High School to convey great meaning and for students to truly believe that if they dream it, they can achieve it.


DGattenDistrict 5
Donnie Gatten
Board Member- January 2017
PO Box 23
Sturgis, KY  42459

Mr. Gatten has been a Board member since January 2017. 

Mr. Gatten is a native of Union County, a 1982 honors graduate of Union County High School, has a BS in Electronics, and is owner of Technical Training and Consulting, Inc.


Mr. Gatten was married to Union County GT teacher Meg Gatten for 33 years prior to her passing away in 2016. He has four children- Zachary Gatten, Olivia Jarrell, Elizabeth Gatten, and Samuel Gatten. Mr. Gatten currently serves as regional faculty for the American Heart Association, is an Emergency Medical Technician, a Master Electrician, and conducts MSHA & OSHA safety training/consulting across the U.S.


Mr. Gatten’s goal as a Board member is to make a positive difference in student lives and the lives of teachers and school district employees. He believes in the value of listening to other points of view in order to arrive at the best solutions. As a Board member, he will strive to help all of our students achieve at their highest level and acquire the skills needed to prepare them for today’s jobs- and for a successful life.